Honda wont start

Honda, Audi, Duratec engined variants
User avatar
thommo
Posts: 4226
Joined: Tue Jul 13, 2004 12:50 pm
Location: Lancs
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 12 times

Re: Honda wont start

Post by thommo » Sun Jul 24, 2016 6:14 pm

Did you get it started for a blat?

User avatar
MrBean
Posts: 1710
Joined: Wed May 12, 2004 7:35 pm
Location: Suuuuuuufuk

Re: Honda wont start

Post by MrBean » Sun Jul 24, 2016 7:57 pm

Thommo nah...still dead.. Friend coming tomorrow to check through the circuits , there is no sign of life in the engine management relays and will also give it a tow.
Seloc has quite a thread on this prob but no specific answers...I still feel it is immobiliser related but I could be wrong....implication is that the imob system is incorporated in the Handata ECU in which case I'm flummoxed As I am still in the steam age. Could by pass the K series easily.
Waiting for suggestions from Martin E
Adventure not Dementia

User avatar
thommo
Posts: 4226
Joined: Tue Jul 13, 2004 12:50 pm
Location: Lancs
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 12 times

Re: Honda wont start

Post by thommo » Sun Jul 24, 2016 9:38 pm

That's a shame. I know the feeling: all dressed up and nowhere to go.

User avatar
STEVE.E
Posts: 359
Joined: Thu Sep 19, 2002 11:00 am
Location: STUCK IN THE OFFICE
Been thanked: 2 times

Re: Honda wont start

Post by STEVE.E » Sun Jul 24, 2016 10:07 pm

Clive.
FYI as far as I know the standard Honda immobiliser on the ecu is deactivated when the kpro is done as it requires a coded signal from the ignition key to work and so you don't have to have two keys to start the car this is switched off. I believe (can't remember for sure as it's been a long time since I have seen that car) but I think the original lotus meta immobiliser is wired into the fuel pump and crank circuits in the same way as the standard car so you should be able to bridge it out in the normal way. Hope that helps.
Steve

tim_marra
Posts: 4799
Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2004 4:56 pm
Location: Cumbria

Re: Honda wont start

Post by tim_marra » Sun Jul 24, 2016 10:44 pm

Modders blight :roll:

User avatar
MrBean
Posts: 1710
Joined: Wed May 12, 2004 7:35 pm
Location: Suuuuuuufuk

Re: Honda wont start

Post by MrBean » Mon Jul 25, 2016 9:24 am

Steve this is whats behind the seat
Image
Your original photo. :clap:
Just talked to Dad who has given me another suggestion re relays and it does not sound like Immob as pumps prime

going to try it now. :|
Thanks for help.
will report
Adventure not Dementia

User avatar
STEVE.E
Posts: 359
Joined: Thu Sep 19, 2002 11:00 am
Location: STUCK IN THE OFFICE
Been thanked: 2 times

Re: Honda wont start

Post by STEVE.E » Mon Jul 25, 2016 10:12 am

Clive,

That black box mounted on the front of the ECU is not the immobilizer unit, its the high frequency microwave unit, it detects movement inside the car and its range is adjustable with a small screwdriver through the hole at the bottom of the unit. The immobilizer unit should be mounted behind the drivers seat, As per the original exige mounting position.

Cheers Steve.

User avatar
MrBean
Posts: 1710
Joined: Wed May 12, 2004 7:35 pm
Location: Suuuuuuufuk

Re: Honda wont start

Post by MrBean » Mon Jul 25, 2016 12:21 pm

Steve et all thanks for comments
OK it started with a tow but wont re start on switch so seems to point to starter circuit or motor.?
Is it possible to access the starter connections without removing induction ?
Relays behind seat all work as far as I can tell.
May not be be an immob problem after all.
Getting there
Adventure not Dementia

JDS
Posts: 1307
Joined: Sun Aug 10, 2008 7:46 pm

Re: Honda wont start

Post by JDS » Mon Jul 25, 2016 1:08 pm

Go to the immobiliser plug and bridge it out just like a k series car, if it's there. You really don't want to look where the starter is on sc Honda car!!

User avatar
Muu
Posts: 2806
Joined: Mon May 26, 2008 10:38 pm
Location: SW London

Re: Honda wont start

Post by Muu » Mon Jul 25, 2016 1:44 pm

ha no, indeed, the starter is in a pig of a place

Post Reply